Baking Herbed Cauliflower Bread

Once again, I opened the refrigerator door today to find myself with a head of cauliflower sitting there meekly, waiting for me to do something with it.

Since, several years back, I had a recollection of making cauliflower bread sticks which came out great, I was inspired to try making “cauliflower bread” today, as I am working on giving my system a rest from regular bread lately.

This time, I wanted my cauliflower bread to look more like a slice of bread; or, at least, a cauliflower bread “square,” if you will.

My Vitamix came in very handy as I went about turning my head of cauliflower into “riced” cauliflower. By the way, you can skip this “pulsing” step by buying yourself a bag of riced cauliflower. I, then, went about laying out the riced cauliflower on an oven tray, and sprinkled my favorites Herbs de Provence over it before baking.

The rice bits baked in the oven for 10 minutes at 350F. I checked to make sure that everything was baking evenly, and then baked it all some more for another 10 minutes.

Afterward, I gathered the rice bits into cheesecloth and gave them a good press to make sure that all the water in the cauliflower was out of them. (It’s important that the cauliflower be sort of “dried out” before the next step.) To my surprise, plenty of water came out of the cauliflower as I squeezed it!

Later, I mixed the riced cauliflower with 3 eggs (although I probably could have gotten away with just 2) and added some more herbs, a smidge of parmesan cheese, and salted and peppered it all to taste.

Here’s where it gets a little tricky, I got a bit worried when the whole mix looked mushy, so I started cooking it on a cast iron pan, and watched it closely. When I saw indeed that it was starting to take shape, I moved it into to an oven and baked it at 425F for 15 minutes. So you can skip the pan-cooking step, and spread this mix out into an oven tray directly.

Here’s a tip, if you press down on the mix with parchment paper, it’s very easy to flatten it, and it will come out like flat bread when it’s done!

To my delight, this veggie bread came out wonderfully firm and tasty! I have cut it into bread squares, and love it. You can make sandwiches with it, “grilled cheese,” or layer on other toppings. These squares can be stored in the fridge for 3 days or so or frozen for up a month and reheated in the oven.

This was a fun project to make on a rainy day like today. Enjoy!

Hi!  I’m Isabel Marcheselli, a musical artist and writer.  If you liked this post, please “like,” “favorite,” leave a comment, or “share” it with others to show your support – it really helps me get my stuff out there – thanks!  You can also buy me a coffee. Visit my links to follow me at: https://linktr.ee/isabelmarcheselli

Cauliflower bread squares

Leave a comment